Marathon County consists of 40 towns, 15 villages and 6 cities. Click on the links to the left for listings of municipal officials.


From the Wisconsin Blue Book:

Cities and Villages.

Wisconsin's 190 cities and 407 villages are incorporated under general law. Based on a constitutional amendment ratified in 1924, they have home rule powers to determine their local affairs. In general, minimum population for incorporation as a village is 150 residents for an isolated village and 2,500 for a metropolitan village located in a more densely populated area. For cities, the minimums are 1,000 and 5,000, respectively, but an existing village that exceeds 1,000 population may opt for city status. ...

Wisconsin cities currently use two forms of executive organization. The vast majority elect a mayor and a city common council, but 10 operate under a council-manager system, in which the council selects the manager to serve as chief executive. In those cities with the mayor-council form of government, 93 have also appointed full- or part-time city administrators.  City alderpersons are elected for 2-year terms in the spring nonpartisan elections, except in Milwaukee, where alderpersons serve 4-year terms.

In most villages, executive power is vested in the village president, who presides over the village board of trustees and votes as an ex officio trustee, but 9 villages use a village manager form of government with the manager being chosen by the elected board. An additional 77 have created full- or part-time village administrators. Village trustees are elected for 2-year terms in the spring nonpartisan elections.


Town governments govern those areas of Wisconsin that are not included inside the corporate boundaries of either a city or a village. Wisconsin has 1,255 towns, including the entire County of Menominee, which is designated as a town. Towns have only those powers granted by the Wisconsin Statutes. In addition to their traditional responsibility for local road maintenance, town governments carry out a variety of functions and, in some instances, even undertake urban-type services. The town board is usually composed of 3 supervisors, but if a board is authorized to exercise village powers or if the town population is 2,500 or more, it may have up to 5 members. (Menominee County has 7 town board members, who also serve as the county board of supervisors.) Town supervisors are elected for 2-year terms in the spring nonpartisan election. They perform a number of administrative functions, and the town board chairperson has certain executive powers and duties. In addition, the town board may create the position of town administrator.

Supervisors are expected to carry out the policies set at the annual town meeting. The annual meeting is held on the second Tuesday of April (or another date set by the electors), and during the meeting all qualified voters of the town are entitled to discuss and vote on matters specified by state law.

 This section maintained by County Clerk.